FIRE - POWER - MONEY goes to the Emmy Awards

I want to take a moment to express my profound gratitude to the team of journalists at ABC10 who work on FIRE - POWER - MONEY. Also to our bosses who give us the time and space to do this in-depth work.

All of us are honored to be entrusted to tell the difficult stories of wildfire survivors, shining a light on preventable wildfires in the hope of saving more people from the same suffering.

I'm thrilled to share our reporting project was honored with five regional Emmy Awards over the weekend. The awards recognize our work in 2021.

ABC10 also won the station excellence Emmy (the big one!) and a grand total of 14 Emmy Awards, the most of any station in the San Francisco chapter (which covers all of Northern California, Hawaii, and Northern Nevada.)

Here's what won from FIRE - POWER - MONEY, with links to watch:

"Secrets of the Camp Fire," a story that arises from our years-long effort to bring more of the evidence of PG&E's 85 felonies to light, won best investigative story.

Our three-part series "How Gov. Gavin Newsom Protected PG&E" won an Emmy for investigative series.

Tyler Horst's phenomenal work on that series took home the Emmy for best editing. Specifically, his work on the part three of that series titled "the PG&E Police." (Think a corporate earnings call can't make good television? Go watch what Tyler did: right now.)

FIRE - POWER - MONEY's series on the Newsom administration's handling of PG&E also took home Emmy Awards for investigative reporting and writing.

ABC10 won a breaking news Emmy for live coverage of the Caldor Fire, which involved a bunch of people from FIRE - POWER - MONEY and my fellow reporter John Bartell.

This follows four wins for FIRE - POWER - MONEY in this year's regional Murrow Awards (and a fifth for ABC10 colleague Andie Judson's reporting on women in firefighting!)

Congrats to the whole FPM team: Executive Producer Gonzalo Magaña, Visual Magicians Tyler Horst, Victor Nieto, and Rory Ward, Digital/Social Producers Mike Bunnell and Sabrina Sanchez. Thanks also to ABC10 anchor Mike Duffy, who conducted interviews for us.

This was the first year since COVID that the Emmy gala (read: "TV news prom") was back in-person in San Francisco. A special shoutout to Julie Watts of CBS13 and everyone else at the Emmy chapter who put together an incredible event.



From left to right: Rory Ward, Victor Nieto, Tyler Horst, Brandon Rittiman, and Gonzalo Magaña accept the Emmy for investigative series.